Aditya's Weblog

It is not our abilities that show us what we truly are; it's our choices.

Bed Ridden

Its been 5 days since I am on bed rest and God am I frustrated. I really feel like getting up and running around the campus but man if i do that , I might have to stay down for an even longer time.

It was like any other day when I, Rahul and Beri were sitting in D-7  whiling away our time, fretting over the mid sem 2 syllabus and uttering loud curses for our profs, the politest of them being “harami”, “sala” and “be***c***” (believe me its polite after u’ve listened to all the stuff we have in store for them). I had just seen the Royal Rumble few hours back and was all fired up. Consequently, called Beri to a one-on-one match. And when he had me locked in a choke hold, I tried to overpower him but the 2 joined beds (thr ring) split apart and I went straight down, my right knee ramming into solid steel of the bed.

Sitting in the doctor’s cabin next day, I was told that I had developed a blood clot in my knee which would take 3 weeks to recover and was put on an 8 day bed rest, advised to walk very little after that using knee braces.

So I am convalescing since the past 5 days now without even a bath (yes even I feel “yuck” now , so i wouldn’t mind your saying the same).Its really difficult to pass time when all alone in the room in one position, unable even to shift even in the bed for 3-4 hours. I really get depressed at times, although it seems stupid later. Even the laptop seems boring after an hour or two.

Rahul , Beri and Pulkit have been helping me a lot like filling the water bottle (” tu ruk saale main toilet hi jaa raha tha”), getting my food from the mess to the room (“oye last time main laya tha sachdev aaj teri baari hai”), getting my clothes, medicines etc from my room (“poora ghar basayga kya yaha par?”). Sachdev has already warned me that once I fully recover, I shall have to stay in D-7 for 10 more days and “repay” all the chores that he and Beri have done for me. Indeed, when I ask for too many things at the same time he and Beri seriously contemplate breaking my other knee too. I wouldn’t put it past them either.

This accident couldn’t have happened at a worse time. I have had to miss the annual festival of NIFT (imagine that, when IIIT is already facing a shortage of “goog-looking” girls!!!). And our own fest “FELICITY” is just 3 days away. I will have to miss that too. I really feel sad about it.

There are some things weighing down upon my mind tonight, although I can’t share them here. So I will have to go now as I need to think about them a lot…………. I’m not sleeping tonight.

February 5, 2008 Posted by | Uncategorized | 1 Comment