Aditya's Weblog

It is not our abilities that show us what we truly are; it's our choices.

Reflections —- One Year Later

Hi all

Shit this is not how I was supposed to start ………………… 😦 darn it ever since I became CR I have been so much into sending mails at the end of virtually every hour that this is how I start any of my written correspondences. As a souvenir to this irritating trait of mine I shall not edit the opening of this one .

After one long year , in the words of Sylar “I am back”, though not with any kind of malevolent plans to inflict pain on the world but rather to “get back into the loop” so as to speak.  Many of you might wonder ( or maybe not, after all my blog entries are not Harry potter stories that people wait for with frenzied anticipation 😛 ) why I have been dormant for the last 1 year. To tell the truth so much was happening to me at that point in time, so many awful and rapidly changing things one after the other that I was simply overwhlemed and felt lost in life. I had simply lost my confidence as I was trying to emulate the wrong people and pursuing the wrong values in life with no sense of self- enlightenment. When I look at myself back then and now, I am downright appalled and embarassed as to what kind of a scumbag I had reduced myself to.

I had taken up Electronics and Communication Engineering in IIIT, without thinking for a moment that I had never been able to make my peace with Physics during the entire +1 and +2, the basic foundation of all electronics. Consequently all EC subjects in the first year were hell for me …………….  barely managed to scrape a D in Electronics Circuits as well as Electrical Science in the second semester. So as the first year of college came to an end and we were going home on a 4 month vacation, I suddenly started thinking what the hell I was doing in IIIT ? I did not like what I was going to study for the next three years and which would form the basis of the work that I was going to do further in my life. Believe me studying something you don’t enjoy tortures you to limits you just can’t imagine. It clouds your thoughts with self doubt and a sense of worthlessness, my self-confidence began to lower each passing day and suddenly being in IIIT felt like being in a prison, something I never thought would happen.  They say “vinash kalya vipreet budhi” exactly what happened to me as I did not even apply for a branch change at the end of first year. Maybe things would have worked out quiet differently had I done so. I shall always repent this decision of mine.

I started wondering whether I had opened the floodgates for my own personal hell the day i decided to opt for non-medical without seeing where my own interest lay, but blindly following the road “more travelled by”.   And even now I feel strongly that this is indeed the case.

As you might know from my previous entry, I was also down with a serious leg injury about an year back that could have resulted in me coming under the doctor’s knife. Being on bed rest for one week when the whole college was immersed in the Felicity also upset me alot ………… being alone in the room for hours when people outside were dancing and roaming about having fun ……

Well as they say time is the greatest healer and I am no exception ……… with time I got over my low self-confidence. Whats done was done and it was now time for damage control. I am on it. I still see a blank in front of me when I think of what I will do after my B.Tech ends …………… I still have doubts and I still hate Electronics, but I battle in the hope that my struggle with the very thing I hate will help me find my true calling someday. Exactly how even I do not know but I have faith ( and a blind one at that ) …….  A lot has happened in the past semester that I would have loved to share on this blog.   But its all in the past now …………… its time to let bygones be bygones and turn over a new leaf.  I just hope I am able to survive these 3 years here ……… and some fine day out of the blue God lets me know what to do ahead in life.

With this “returning” blog entry I once again enter the blogging world actively. This one had to be  sad and emotional for I felt like sharing the reason for my long absence and my feelings during that time. But keep coming back regularly for more interesting articles ………..

Cheers                                                                                                                                                                                                                        Aditya  Sood

Shit i wasn’t supposed to end it this way either   ….. its not Students mail !!!!!   :O

February 15, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

9 Comments »

  1. This is great! You are awesome and really have your finger on the pulse …
    Keep rockin….!!!
    Lets all hope is felicity pe tere saath koi panga na ho…[:D]….

    Comment by Ankit Rai | February 18, 2009 | Reply

  2. Welcome to the jungle. Dude, believe me, I’m in the same boat as you are; though I don’t hate the college or the stream but my life altogether. Lets make it together chum. Let us survive. Let us stick it to the man.

    (Remember our oath: we’ll fall but the fall will not be one without dignity. We’ll leave no traces behind for the pursuers of our ashes to follow. We shall dive into the oblivion, never to return again.)

    Comment by sidjustice21 | February 19, 2009 | Reply

  3. 1. lol
    2. oscillations are a part f life…. u’ll noe betta… jus dat u r into d shit n dats y u cant c things clearly… once u “try” n cum ou f it…. u ll noe wats best for u n how u shud go about it
    3.ur best quality… is ur art f articulation… u r way too gud wid it. guess THIS ‘ll help u sail thru d next 3yrs 🙂

    Comment by sandhya | February 27, 2009 | Reply

  4. i thought i was the only one going through all this…believe me i feel more or less the same way as u described..i thought of entering blogging world with a similar post but wanted to make it after 4th sem…seriously life@iiit is transforming us…. into what?only time can tell….

    Comment by shashank paliwal | March 10, 2009 | Reply

  5. Nice !

    Comment by Saurabh Sharma | May 11, 2009 | Reply

  6. Hey !!
    Just an advice for you and all those who wrote above that they feel the same way :

    Just start thinking that you love ECE branch (others extrapolate :)) and after some time you’ll actually find something lovable in it. Keep cursing it and it will keep getting worse.

    This is not any morale boosting shit i m talking about. Its real!!
    There no other thing that seems to be working for you anyway (i guess) so y not just try this ….

    Comment by Doesn't Matter | August 20, 2009 | Reply

  7. Thanks for commenting Doesn’t Matter
    I would have really appreciated your comment had you had the guts to tell me your true identity. Hiding behind a fake id only shows that you are worse off than I am my dear friend.

    I do not know whether your intentions are really as good as they sound or you are just mocking me bcozz u do not wish to face me directly.
    So i would advice you to drop your mask and speak to me as who you are. I would really appreciate that.

    Otherwise you do not have any business commenting on how I feel about things and how I ought to feel if you can’t even reveal yourself.
    True cowardice personified, I must say

    Comment by 1twoka4 | August 20, 2009 | Reply

  8. Well what can i say …
    some people just don’t want to move on …..
    tell me one valid reason why my identity will help you in following the advice while i can list out many to show that its important that its kept secret.

    Anyway, i m sorry i tried to interfere in ur “business” (that is mostly about being frustrated about your life).

    I sincerely hope you get well soon.

    p.s.1: now i think i am making a big deal out of it …. but screw it… i am not going to delete all that i wrote…. i was angry at ur unreasonably rude reply ..
    grow up dude … anonymity is one of the things i like about blogs …

    p.s.2: don’t waste your time replying this one coz i m not visiting your blog again …

    Comment by Doesn't Matter | August 22, 2009 | Reply

  9. Well Doesn’t matter , although you say you are not going to visit my site again, I am still tempted to think that one day you will eventually open my blog again :). So this is what I want to say :

    1. Maybe I was a little rude in replying to you. But you have to understand that if someone is giving me a suggestion or an advice abt some issue in life, I need to know that that person actually knows what I am going through and is not jusy passing on cliches to me. I am really curious to know how keeping your identity secret will help me follow your advice. I am at a total loss to understand that. And I am not saying this in a joking manner. I am quite serious here.

    2.The reason i want to know who you are is that I had a strong suspicion that you know me very well personally since you used a fake id. Friendship is not just about sharing the laughs and good times. Since you know me, come up to me and tell me what fault I have. It would make me respect you. I am really hurt that you choose to remain in the shadows. Means you and I must be having some trust issues. I would say to sort them out. The ball is now in your court. [:)]

    3. As about being frustrated in life, I do not want to say anything bitter, but you must understand that every person views the same circumstance subjectively and not objectively. What might be a trivial thing for you might mean the difference between life and death to me. So do not judge people so easily.

    4. Lastly as for moving on, believe me that is what I am trying to do since a long long time [:)] ……….. Wish me luck .

    Comment by 1twoka4 | August 22, 2009 | Reply


Leave a comment